New Made on Monday Pieces

After a long break I have made some more pieces for the Made on Monday Challenge.  I am not anywhere close to doing one per week which is what I tried to do for the first year, but I will participate as much as I can.  My plan is to develop some of these pieces into larger works, because after all these years, I still don’t know what my ‘style’ is.  Maybe I don’t have one?

It has been a busy year with family commitments as well as work, and I also took a month off to travel with my husband to England and Ireland in May, which was wonderfully relaxing.  I have to say the scenery we experienced, particularly in Northern Ireland was absolutely some of the most amazing I have seen.  I took many photos, and hopefully something will end up in some form of textile pieces in the future.

Meanwhile I have been practicing “drawing” with thread.  Often the inspiration for “what to draw” takes longer than actually stitching!  I am getting better at making quick decisions and getting on with it, but that still needs work.

Here are my 2 favourites from the current Made on Monday batch.  You can see all of them in my gallery.

MoM Lyn Pecchiar #59

This one was stitched first using black thread, then I used watercolour pencils to add the colour.  Even though it’s a bit wonky, I love the sketchiness of it.

MoM Lyn Pecchiar #58

This little bloke was stitched entirely freehand using a variegated thread.  It was interesting to see what colours ended up where, and I love the different coloured eyes.

Hope you have enjoyed seeing what I have been up to.

Until next time

Lyn

Leave a comment