Out and About Purse

Sorry it’s been a while since I blogged, but happily that means I have been spending spare time sewing a few things that I can blog in the future.

I have made up another pattern from Studio Mio that I bought at the Stitches and Craft show in April. I bought the mini shoulder pouch and the “Out and About Purse” which I loved even though it is probably impractical as I doubt I would fit my glasses in it once my phone is inside. Never to be put off by impracticalities, I made this cute purse up anyway.1 PurseKit

I followed the instructions which were quite easy as I have made purses before. With only 2 pieces, the outside and the lining, it is quick to make too.  The fabric I used came with the kit.3 fabric

After fusing some thin wadding to the main fabric, sewing the side seams then the bottom corners, it’s nearly done.

I then sewed the lining to the main fabric. As instructed I sewed some twine around the top of the purse to help it stay in the purse frame but in later steps found that the twine was too thick and I couldn’t get the fabric into the frame. So I unpicked it and inserted a slightly thinner braid (but forgot to take photos of it).

Once it was turned through to the right side and pressed I was able to get the fabric into the frame, so I got out the glue and carefully glued the purse body to the frame.  Once it was dry I added the strap to the frame and all done!  Love it! Might have to go places where I don’t need to see anything too closely though, so I can leave my specs at home!

Until next time, Lyn

Leave a Reply

