Colourful Beach Boxes

The brightly coloured beach boxes on denim that I did for the Photo to Fibre exhibition in 2016 were a favourite of mine.  So I thought I would have another go at doing them for the Made on Monday Challenge Lyn and I are doing this year.

The 5 inch pieces are a bit more limiting than the beach bags and fabric buckets I did for the exhibition so I created new templates in a smaller scale.

20170604_100500

Cutting up small pieces of coloured fabric and fusing it onto denim is very therapeutic – but by the end of the fourth piece, I started to wonder why I felt I had to make four of them?

20170604_104232

The initial reason was to experiment with quilting techniques, but as you can see, in my haste to finish them and not really wanting to compromise with the design too much, they ended up looking very similar.

20170607_133209

However, piece number 5 is my favourite.

20170607_133316

 

Now to the next challenge piece…..

Leave a Reply

