Favourite patterns

Although I have been sewing clothes for myself for many years, I only started using Silhouette Patterns about 5 years ago. I love the webcasts and all the free information Peggy provides and find them very inspiring. Unfortunately my sewing ambitions far exceed the time available, but I have managed to produce some garments.

One of my favourite patterns is the Sweater Set #195.  Just take a look at the condition of my pattern envelope.  Well-loved indeed.

SilPat195

I have just made the cardigan top again, this time with press stud closures.  I should have been careful what I wished for, there are a LOT of studs to do up if I want it closed!  AND, the first time I carefully stitched the press stud tape onto both sides, only to try it on and realise that I had stitched both sides of the tape to the right side of the fabric! So yes, a bit of swearing went on.  Then I got out my well used quick unpick and took it off one side and sewed it correctly.  Luckily because of the thick kind of furry properties of the fabric, you can’t see the stitching that much (or the un-stitching!)

195_1

I really like the fit of this pattern and love that it’s sort of a cardigan, but can be dressed up or worn with jeans.

These are pictures of the same pattern, but using zips as a closure:

I have also made the sleeveless top at least twice that I can remember, and will post pictures of those in a future post.

Until next time, Lyn

Leave a Reply

