Features created from sewing mistakes

I just finished my current sewing project.  First time using this pattern Vogue 8817 Katherine Tilton.  The chosen fabric has a beautiful drape but really tricky to sew and causing me some grief with skipped stitches until I finally found the right combination of finer needle and thread.

20170329_194824

I didn’t read the pattern properly and missed cutting out the back yolk and ran out of fabric.  Oops.  Decided to use strips instead, which resulted in a draped, exposed back feature.

20170423_092727

Then, despite trying very hard to finish the neckline without stretching…..it stretched!

Rather than giving up, only because I love the fabric colour and drape, I again decided to make it a feature rather than a fault and added a small panel as it was a little too revealing for my taste and beading to disguise the stretched binding.

20170423_092859

I am very pleased with the final result and look forward to wearing it.

20170423_092830

Posted by Cora.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Features created from sewing mistakes

  1. What a beautiful idea to make beauty from a flaw. I saw on Facebook (i.e. don’t know how true it is) that broken pottery in japan is pieced together with gold as new valuable artwork. I love seeing beauty from mistakes – it’s hopeful 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

